OMG!!! APC wins governorship election in Edo

 OMG!!! APC wins governorship election in Edo

The candidate of the All Progressives Congress in the Edo State
governorship election, Mr. Godwin Obaseki, has been declared winner of
the poll by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

He defeated his main rival and candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Osagie Ize-Iyamu, with 66,310 more votes.

Obaseki polled 319,483 votes as against Ize-Iyamu’s 253, 173 votes.

INEC’s Returning Officer, Prof. Kayode Soremekun, who declared
Obaseki winner, said he had met all conditions required to be returned
as governor elect for the state.

Obaseki had claimed an early lead in the poll, but half way into the
election, the tie had been evenly posed with results appearing to be
likely to swing in either candidate’s direction.

With results for nine of the 18 local government areas in the state
collated around 11am, Obaseki had won five LGAs and polled 142,424 votes
as against Ize-Iyamu’s four LGAs and 136,808 votes.

The results for the remaining nine local governments, however, saw the APC candidates lead widen, paving way for his victory.

The collation and announcement of the result was not without incident.

Hundreds of PDP supporters held a protest at the INEC office in Benin where the exercise was taking place.

The protesters alleged that results from their areas were manipulated
and that there results were cancelled in areas that were PDP
strongholds. They called on INEC to suspend collation of result from the
areas, including Esan North-East LGA.

The protesters were, however, dispersed by the police with tear gas as the protest became more heated.

Also, some agents, including that of KOWA Party, called for the
cancellation of the result, with others, including the APC candidate
urging them to go to court.

Also, PDP’s agent, Chris Agbonwanegbe, refused to sign the result sheet, saying it was “rehearsed and produced”.

See collated results for all LGAs below:

  1. Owan West

APC: 12,862

PDP: 10,132

  1. Egor

APC: 26,177

PDP: 19,514

  1. Esan North East

APC: 9,130

PDP: 16,220

  1. Igueben

APC: 7,802

PDP: 7,560

  1. Uhunmwode

APC: 10,911

PDP: 8,667

6 Esan South East

APC: 9,554

PDP: 11,466

  1. Oredo

APC: 37,612

PDP: 30,492

  1. Orhionmwon

APC: 15,262

PDP: 16,446

  1. Esan West

APC 13,114

PDP 16,311

  1. Owan East

APC: 21, 233

PDP: 12,889

  1. Ovia North East

APC: 17,561

PDP: 13,141

  1. Esan Central

APC: 9,781

PDP: 10,180

  1. Etsako East

APC: 18,078

PDP: 12,552

  1. Etsako Central

APC: 10,373

PDP: 8,827

  1. Etsako West

APC: 29,199

PDP: 10,843

  1. Ikpoba-Okha

APC: 33,469

PDP: 26,096

  1. Akoko-Edo

APC: 24,545

PDP: 13,027

Ovia South-West

APC: 12,820

PDP: 8,810


 APC: 319,483

PDP: 253,173

Post a Comment